Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Swan

Posted by Jackie on April 23, 2009

IMGP6753

The reason we went to Queen’s Park at the weekend was to see if we could see any ducklings, although I was pretty sure (and was right) that we were too early for that. We did manage to see some baby coots, but the two photos I managed to take of them (before my camera batteries gave up) were both rubbish, too far away for my not-particularly-strong zoom and also not helped by one of the adult coots constantly swimming in front of them, presumably to protect them from the paparazzi! I did though manage to catch this fine fellow preening himself, he seemed quite unpeturbed to be photographed, probably he was aware how lovely he looks.

Thank you for all the get-well-soons. I’m back working, not 100% but should be visiting blogs again soon (I have another deadline coming up, so looking at other people’s blogs is ideal procrastination :D ).

8 Responses to “Swan”

  1. Katya said

    What a beauty of a photo you have for us today, Jackie! I love reflections so much and this one is the icing on the cake! This reminds me of a young woman in her “boudoir” and we catch a glimpse into her room! This is just so lovely!!!!!

  2. Still I loved the composition

  3. Well photographed.

  4. Wonderful peaceful photo with a great reflection.

  5. Katya said

    Back again! Last night I was so totally exhausted! (perhaps partly due to my “close encounter”!)

    I wanted to say I have never seen baby coots before. That would be a real treat! I will certainly be on the lookout now, as there are many coots hanging out in Canandaigua at the City Pier! Coots are soooooo troublesome to photograph, as are Scotties and anything colored black. There just isn’t enough contrast to capture them well. I know many Scottie owners complained as they could never get their pups “just right”!

    I am happy also to hear that you are feeling better! Seems there are so many bugs out there now!!

  6. m_m said

    Great photo, I like the reflection very much!

  7. Jacob said

    This is such a good photo – your composition is superb…at first I thought that some a bit of earth had become attached to the tree and the duck was perched in the air.

    Great job!

  8. Lunarossa said

    Wow, another gem! Ever thought of a nice public display (apart from the blog) of your beautiful photos? Maybe even a book? Hope you’re feeling better. Ciao. A.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

