Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Queen’s Park Farmers’ Market

Posted by Jackie on November 4, 2007

Every first and third Saturday of the month, there is a farmers’ market in Queen’s Park on the south side of the city. It’s only small, but sells all sorts of organic and/or locally produced veg, meat, cake, puddings, Indian food, soap, ostrich burgers (that well-known Scottish delicacy!) etc. I always try to buy my veg from here – it always seems so much tastier than the veg from the supermarket.

I like this photo as it also shows the view down Victoria Road towards the city centre. The depth of field (which I have to admit was more luck than judgment) makes the city centre look really close (it is in fact a 15 minute or so bus ride from here).

10 Responses to “Queen’s Park Farmers’ Market”

  1. Your blog has been included in our guide.

    Around The World with Daily Photoblogs Old and New is a brief history of the City Daily Photoblog movement and a guide to sites around the world.

    Our criterion for inclusion is that photographs related mainly to a specific geographical location are posted at dated intervals. CDPB critera are much stricter, so inclusion in our guide does not imply that a blog is officially a CDPB.

    Please keep us informed of any changes to your details.

  2. Gails_man said

    I wonder if they are the same farmers that run our market once a month. Ostrich meat is delicious.

  3. Even if it is by accident, that’s an excellent effect.

    Never been to the market there – isn’t parking a bit of a problem?

  4. Jackie said

    Parking’s not a problem for me – I live round the corner! On the 2nd and 4th Saturday’s the market is in Partick somewhere, so a bit closer to you I think.

  5. […] Glasgow (UK) by Jackie […]

  6. Shorty said

    Those buses in the center of the photo look just like the buses in San Antonio. Ostrich meat huh? Never had that, I wonder if it’s available in San Antonio. I think the most exotic thing I’ve ever eaten is either deer or rabbit meat.

  7. Barb said

    We have a farmers market but nothing this big.

  8. Nice view! Did you take this photo from a bridge?

  9. blueboat said

    Great shot of the city – I don’t think I’ve ever been to this part of Glasgow. The farmers market looks great.

  10. glasgowdailyphoto said

    Hi Fenix – no, the market is at the bottom of a small hill, so I walked a little way up the hill then zoomed in. I guess that must be how I got the interesting depth of field.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
