Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Lucky graffiti (I hope!)

Posted by Jackie on November 17, 2007

This graffiti appeared on a wall near my flat just before the Scotland-Ukraine football match at Hampden Stadium last month (which Scotland won 2-1). Hopefully it will bring good luck and a similar result for this Saturday, when Scotland face Italy. Much to everybody’s surprise, Scotland is top of its (very difficult) Euro 2008 qualifying group, a point ahead of Italy and France who on paper are much better teams (and who are current and former World Cup champions). Scotland need a win to go through to Euro 2008, whereas Italy only need a draw, so the whole country is in agony waiting and hoping against hope for the right result.

I’m away again for a few days so might not be able to comment on other blogs or reply to comments here, but a new picture should still appear every day.

3 Responses to “Lucky graffiti (I hope!)”

  1. glasgowdailyphoto said

    Gah. I should have just stuck to wearing my lucky pants.

    (Injury time winner – how cruel can you get?)

  2. ro_pumpkin said

    hey ! sorry for you … hahaha . maybe scotland is not ready yet for european cup . although i prefer scotland to italy .

  3. glasgowdailyphoto said

    Well, they did beat France in both matches in the qualifying group, and I think showed they were more than ready for European football (we won’t talk about dodgy refereeing decisions because that will be depressing). I think everyone was really surprised by how well they did and how close they came to doing it – when the groups were originally announced nobody gave them a hope in hell because they were in the same group as Italy, France and Ukraine. Did Romania get through, Ro_pumpkin? – I’ll check the papers later.

    And an update on the photo: yesterday when I went out the flag had been painted over with white paint, which is a shame. Obviously I disapprove of graffiti, but this seemed a harmless enough addition.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
