Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Under the rainbow

Posted by Jackie on November 19, 2007

This is the view from the top of the Mackintosh Tower, which is part of the Lighthouse building. I’ll need to go back to the Lighthouse soon and take some more pictures, as it’s a great building in its own right. Originally it was the office for the Glasgow Herald newspaper, (designed by Charles Rennie Mackintosh in 1895), and after falling somewhat into disuse for some time it’s now home to Scotland’s Centre for Architecture and Design having been thoroughly revamped just in time for the new millennium. For now though, here is the view from the top looking north over the city centre. I managed just the one picture with the rainbow before the batteries in my camera died – I was very lucky that I managed to get just this one!

6 Responses to “Under the rainbow”

  1. Ahh I love so much Scotland’s sky, Scotland’s clouds and Scotland’s rain… Maybe this mean I love Scotland !!!

  2. glasgowdailyphoto said

    Heh – actually when Scotland does blue sky, I’ve never seen blue sky like it – it seems to have a depth of colour I never saw in England. You just have to know where to look (between the black clouds, often!).

  3. It’s drier and brighter in Ayr than in Glasgow, most of the time! However just remember that it is the rain that keeps Scotland looking so green and pleasant.

  4. That is a lovely rainbow – is that Sauchiehall Street down below?

  5. glasgowdailyphoto said

    No, Sauchiehall Street runs at 90 degrees to this street. Unfortunately I don’t have my A-Z to hand, so can’t confirm which street it is – I’ll get back to you in a few days when I get the A-Z back!

  6. COOL shot with the rainbow, nice and sharp and pretty, nice capture! 😀

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
