Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Kibble Palace (3) – Cain

Posted by Jackie on December 7, 2007

Throughout the Kibble Palace, along the corridor which circumnavigates the main hall, are sculptures of various biblical figures. This thoughtful (or perhaps anguished?) looking chap is Cain.

I’m away for the weekend again, so after today my pictures may not appear on the portal for a few days due to a feed problem, and I won’t be able to reply to comments or comment on other blogs for a few days. I’m looking forward to catching up next week with everyone!

5 Responses to “Kibble Palace (3) – Cain”

  1. Why biblical figures? I did a (maybe too quick) Google search hoping to find the answer to that question. Do you know?

  2. Olivier said

    elle est très belle cette série sur “Kibble Palace”. merci pour ton passage sur mon blog. je te souhaite un bon weekend
    it is very beautiful this series on “Kibble Palace”. thank you for your passage on my blog. I wish you a good weekend

  3. These signs were not there when we frequented the place so I’m learning as well. Good photograph.

    Fénix, Glasgow’s motto is ‘Let Glasgow flourish by the preaching of His word and the praising of His name’, so you will find a considerable quantity of religious imagery in the City.

  4. ro_pumpkin said

    you travel a lot . always away for the weekend . it’s the envy speaking , sometimes i wish i would do the same … hahaha

  5. glasgowdailyphoto said

    Fenix – I didn’t know why the Biblical figures were there either (and I did wonder if I’d misremembered and there were also other mythical figures, but the Biblical ones – Cain, Eve, Mary etc – are the only ones I remembered). But Honest Man’s comment has educated me – I knew about “Let Glasgow Flourish” but I had no idea about the next bit.

    Ro_Pumpkin – I am travelling a lot at the moment, but hopefully next year will be calmer! I’ll reveal the reason for the recent travelling at the end of the month!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
