Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Kibble Palace (4)

Posted by Jackie on December 8, 2007

A bit of a Christmassy feeling picture here – another statue, this time in the main area of the palace, surrounded by poinsettias. The round orbs you can see are the lights, which are green when they’re on, giving an interesting effect (though my close-up photos of them didn’t come out so well, sadly). As you can see, the different domes and curves make really striking patterns, always good for photographing, although I wonder if they’re actually more interesting than the plants!

I’m away for the weekend again, so my pictures may not appear on the portal for a few days due to a feed problem, and I won’t be able to reply to comments or comment on other blogs for a few days. I’m looking forward to catching up next week with everyone!

5 Responses to “Kibble Palace (4)”

  1. Well, I do find them more interesting than the plants. I also like how you’ve post-processed this photo. 🙂

  2. ro_pumpkin said

    hahaha … i always look for patterns .

  3. z said

    It is a very visually arresting building. And those lights look like giant showerheads to me.

  4. glasgowdailyphoto said

    Thank you all – I think that the Kibble Palace is more interesting than the plants, but in the other glasshouse in the Botanic Gardens the plants are more interesting than the building. I’ll return there another time.

    Fenix, actually there was no post-processing at all – my camera has a setting which can do black and white but then pick out one particular colour. It doesn’t always look that great but I was really pleased with this one!

  5. I honestly didn’t have an idea about Kibble Palace in previous photo until this one (me too I’m another one here more interested in palace than plants). It looks really great (and your camera really cool)

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
