Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Christmas Lights

Posted by Jackie on December 11, 2007

Up in George Square in Central Glasgow, I think that the key design concept when coming up with the design for the Christmas lights was “bling”. This is my 3rd Christmas in Glasgow – the holly and bells have been there all three years, last year the blue angels appeared, with a few other random designs, and this year they seem to have gone mad! I shall show you some of the other George Square lights, as well as other Christmas lights around the city, at various points throughout December.

I’ve also done my own bit, by putting up my own Christmas tree and lights this week. They’re very tasteful though – not blingy at all!

6 Responses to “Christmas Lights”

  1. jules said

    Love Christmas lights – so bling you are right – but such fun!!!

  2. Lara said

    one of the nicest parts of the Christmas season: the lights! Excelent comentariu in limba romana pe blogul lui ro_pumpkin! O zi buna!

  3. glasgowdailyphoto said

    Thanks Jules – I’m not sure whether it’s more Blackpool or Las Vegas, but whatever, it’s certainly not subtle!

    Lara – multumesc mult! Si bunvenit la blogul meul 🙂

  4. ro_pumpkin said

    please do . show more christmas lights . i think i will only show christmas light for the rest of the month … hahaha . glad i can help you practice your romanian language .

  5. It’s unbelievable how close to Italian the Romanian language is (at least in its written form).

  6. glasgowdailyphoto said

    Ooh, sorry Fenix I forgot to comment on your comment – yes, Romanian is also a latin language. Because I learnt french at school I found Romanian fairly easy to learn (in fact my Romanian is better than my french now, because I use it more). In Romania last year I was talking to a Brazilian guy who said that he found Romanian relatively easy to read because it was similar enough to Portuguese and Spanish – although his pronunciation wasn’t very good when he tried to speak it!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
