Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

View west from Victoria Bridge

Posted by Jackie on January 24, 2008

I showed a picture of this bridge lit up in red on the December 1 Bridges theme day. This is the view from the next bridge along (the other side of the bridge from where I took the last photo), looking west down the Clyde.

When I first put this up on flickr, my contacts had a bit of a debate as to whether it needed cropping. One person felt there was too much black sky and it would be better cropped so it missed out most of the sky and the left hand side. But someone else thought that the reflected lights in the bottom left corner led the eye to the bridge, and so I should keep it as it is. I think I’m inclined to agree, but what do you think?

6 Responses to “View west from Victoria Bridge”

  1. Greg said

    I am agreeing with you – keep it uncropped! I like the symmetry of the top half black and the bottom half the light of the bridge and its reflection!

  2. You need the contrast of black sections to highlight the lights effectively. Good photograph as is! In fact great photograph.

  3. I played a bit with it, look here. If I had to choose, I’d go for the one in the middle. But I really like the original photo as is.

  4. Jackie said

    Thank you for all your kind comments. Fenix, I like the middle one too – thank you 🙂

  5. I agree with you. i like very much the contrast with the black

  6. CrazyCow said

    The colours and reflection are really beautiful. The black sky gives it context, and therefore completes the picture. Well done.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
