Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Celtic Connections (1) – Stobo Village Band

Posted by Jackie on January 26, 2008

For me, one of the very very best things about living in Glasgow is the annual Celtic Connections music festival. For 3 weeks in January and February, we have the best Celtic and world music on our doorstep, with concerts in several different venues every night. I’ve been to a few concerts this week, and so for the next few days will share some of the best photos.

This is of a Scottish group, led by violinist Martin Swan, called the Stobo Village Band. They were the support act on Wednesday last week for the Balkan Night at the ABC, a former cinema which is now a concert venue. Unfortunately none of my photos of either of the Balkan headline acts (Balkanopolis from Serbia and Kries from Croatia) are of photoblog quality, but I was pleased with this picture – plus it’s good to feature the support acts as well, as they are often overlooked! Something I’ve always said about Celtic Connections is that the support acts are often as good as the main headline acts, and more often than not after having seen the support act I feel like I’ve got my money’s worth even before the headliners appear! This lot certainly were very good, and so if you get the chance to see them I’d recommend them 🙂

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
