Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Perpetual motion

Posted by Jackie on February 16, 2008

More from the Science Centre. Just opposite the mirrored wall I showed yesterday is this interesting contraption. It’s built in such a way that the ball in the system is constantly moving due to the speeds built up on the way down or the kinetic (it’s kinetic, isn’t it? I never was any good at physics) energy on the way up. It’s really quite hypnotic, I stared at it for ages.

I tried to find the moving ball on this picture but can’t see it – it must have been going too fast!

4 Responses to “Perpetual motion”

  1. Pat said

    Don’t you just love these exhibits? We have a huge Science Centre in Toronto and when I used to drive buses, I loved getting the trips to the SC. We got in free as drivers and the exhibits were fantastic.

    Pat

    Guelph Daily Photo, My Photos.

  2. Somebody is cheating somewhere – energy must be getting added in at some point to overcome frictional loss.

  3. z said

    So similar in design to the one near Villigen (you had mentioned the Glasgow one in a comment back then). Our one has several balls, and the ‘observer’ must crank a wheel to get the balls up to the top to get the thing going, and to keep it going (frictional losses, as pointed out by the honest man).

    http://basedinvilligen.blogspot.com/search?q=axporama

  4. Jackie said

    Actually yes, Z, now you come to mention it I do remember commenting on that photo! I’m glad you got the chance to see ours too!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
