Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Kelvingrove Park grafitti

Posted by Jackie on March 3, 2008

This is the picture that I nearly used for Saturday’s theme day. It’s more traditional ‘outdoor blogging’ (I’m glad so many people enjoyed that term, I wish I could take credit for it but I read it on another daily photo blog a few months ago!). Normally I really dislike this stye of tagging, but there was something about the colours in this that really drew me to it. It was in Kelvingrove Park, and at the time I took it the sky was drab, the weather was cold and damp, the leaves weren’t yet on the trees, the flowers weren’t out, and so the park itself felt a bit drab and dull, and then all of a sudden as I saw this wall there was an explosion of colour which seemed to dissipate the sense of aggression I usually feel when I see this sort of grafitti – it seemed more creative and positive somehow.

Mind you, I wouldn’t want it on the wall of my block of flats! Maybe I’m more nimby-ish than I like to think!

4 Responses to “Kelvingrove Park grafitti”

  1. JosyC said

    I don’t know that I’d ever heard the word “nimby” before–or certainly not recently, anyway. I had to Google it… so thank you for improving my vocabulary today. πŸ™‚

    Now, granted, I’m living in an area where the sun does shine occasionally, but at this time of winter, when I see ANY bright color outside, it’s terribly exciting. I LOVE the technicolor saturation of this paint!

  2. joy said

    I like this photo!!! It’s like a Kandinsky πŸ˜€

    Thanks for visiting Norwich Daily Photo and for leaving your comments. Much appreciated. Do visit again!

    joy
    A Pinay In England
    Your Love Coach
    The Goddess In You

  3. George said

    Whoa! That jumps out at you. I love it!

  4. annewelsh said

    Hi Jackie

    Just found out about the Big Art Mob at the weekend. Do you know about it already? Might be a place to share some of your photos (if you don’t mind them having a creative commons license) and drive more traffic here?

    Sorry if I’m telling you about something you already know!

    Anne

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
