Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Blue Lagoon

Posted by Jackie on April 4, 2008

I’ve already shown you Glasgow’s curry house of the gods the other week – now here’s the chip shop of the gods. Blue Lagoon is a chain of chip shops, this one is right by Central Station and is always heaving on a Saturday night. I particularly recommend the cheesy chips, though I guess not if you have a heart condition 😉

8 Responses to “Blue Lagoon”

  1. magiceye said

    why is it that all these nice things are out of bounds for people with a heart condition 😦

  2. Possibly because we all think they are ‘nice’ things….

    More people in Scotland die from the disease {coronary heart disease than in any other part of the UK, with 261 deaths per 100,000 men and 98 per 100,000 women in 2001.

  3. Katya said

    Oh my goodness! I am not familiar with ‘chips’,but assume these are like American “fries”?
    AHM’s statistics above are really startling! Soooo…guess everyone ought to head over for a salad instead!

  4. Jackie said

    Katya – yes, our chips are your fries. Your chips are our crisps.

    Separated by a common language, indeed 😉

  5. marley said

    Mmmm…cheesey chips. I’ve been out tonight for a few jars and had to make do with a chicken burger. Oh well.

  6. annewelsh said

    Thanks for another happy memory … though my Blue Lagoon Days were before the latest refurb … from the days when I could eat there while waiting to catch my bus home from under the Bridge … and the corner had the “Pizza Hut, a Pizza hut, Kentucky Fried Chicken and a Pizza Hut” of the song. Single special fish (for non West Coasters – fish in breadcrumbs (rather than batter) without chipc) or chips and curry sauce rather than cheesey chips for me, please. And a big pickled onion.

  7. jane said

    Great city shot, really captures the hustle and bustle. Will have to come to your blog when I get island cabin fever to get a “city fix”.I’ve only been here 5 years, but I bet the island hasn’t changedd much since your parents where here.Ramsey bridge has been repainted which is big news and The TT is still going strong.

  8. I haven’t had cheese chips in ages! I can’t believe it, but I’m craving fish and chips now (had dinner only an hour ago!)

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
