Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Kelvingrove Museum

Posted by Jackie on May 2, 2008

I know I’ve shown you lots of pictures from inside the Kelvingrove Museum, but I can’t remember if I’ve shown you the building or not. So here it is from the Argyle Street entrance – originally this was the back door (there’s another entrance the other side of the building) but now that the roads have been modernised this is the front.

I’m away for the Bank Holiday weekend – see you next week!

12 Responses to “Kelvingrove Museum”

  1. Marvelous old building!

  2. Neva said

    A lovely building!

  3. Gerald said

    many a happy hour I spent inside there

  4. Ex West Ender said

    Pretty impressive back door!

  5. That really is a magnificent building. They really knew how to build them back then!

  6. This is a very large and impressive building. I have not seen it before.

  7. Oh, Jackie, what a gorgeous building. Back door, huh? Wow.

  8. Tanya said

    That is an amazing building!

  9. It’s probably been 8 or 10 years since I was there but I recognized the building from the thumbnail. (Being on a Glasgow blog helped a bit, too.) I’m happy to see that the building’s exterior has been beautifully restored. Such Victorian exuberance.

  10. Katya said

    What a gorgeous building! That is so huge and so beautiful…it reminds me of a castle. (speaking as an American who has never witnessed a real castle firsthand) No wonder you find this place so “drawing”!!!!

  11. A potted version of the history of Kelvin Grove Museum can be found at the link which explains why it is ‘back to front’.

  12. Adam said

    Fantastic building! I was studying in the UK when it was under construction unfortunately! Beautiful shot

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
