Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Govanhill Glade fence

Posted by Jackie on May 5, 2008

Round the corner from the Darth Vader gate is Govanhill Glade. The garden is looking very sad these days, most of the beds have been dug up in preparation for the redevelopment that will probably happen later this year. I bumped into one of the gardeners last week who told me that they will probably be forced to move out in August. But they are still letting me put my veg peelings on the compost heap till then, as they are still using the compost they’re making elsewhere. So if you read this and you’re local to the Govanhill area, don’t chuck away your garden and veg waste – add it to the compost heap! 🙂  And whilst you’re at it, enjoy this wonderful painted fence while it’s still there!

Happy Bank Holiday Monday everyone.

One Response to “Govanhill Glade fence”

  1. marley said

    Its such a shame that allotments and community gardens are being built on. In Cheltenahm the waiting list for an allotment is around three years! 370 people are on the list!! I like the colourful fence and its a good use of your peelings! I spent the Bank Holiday taking some photos, as I’ve been running short of good choices these last few days. It was a day well spent 🙂

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
