Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Forever Changes (1)

Posted by Jackie on May 23, 2008

I’ve said before on this blog that I tend to prefer the building of the Gallery of Modern Art (GOMA) to the exhibits. The exhibit that is currently being shown, till the end of September, in the main hall on the ground floor though is getting quite a lot of press and publicity and so I took a look the other week and must say I really liked it. The artist is called Jim Lambie, he is Glasgow-based and has previously been shortlisted for the Turner Prize, amongst other things. The exhibition is called Forever Changes, and features some of his sculptures. This however is a picture of part of the floor, an integral part of the exhibition – this pattern, which is made of vinyl, takes up the entire floor of the ground floor gallery and is really effective. Over the next few days I’ll show you some of the sculptures in the exhibition.

8 Responses to “Forever Changes (1)”

  1. Where does the pattern start and stop?

  2. Jackie said

    It starts at the door (after the entrance hall) and spreads to the outer walls (with the windows) and is really quite a sight (though you wouldn’t want to stare at it too long!).

  3. Katya said

    Wow! Walking on that with one’s head down could be rather “dizzying”, eh? When I was a youngster in high school, when I was bored, I used to draw a VERY similar pattern on notebook paper! I was startled to see this photo at first because of that!

  4. Love it – quite an ocular exercise. It reminds me of elements of Frank Stella’s protractor paintings and Roy Lichtenstein’s brushstroke works. I wish I had the opportunity to see this in person. Since I cannot, I’m looking forward to viewing the exhibit through tour pictures.

  5. Adam said

    Great shot of the work of art. I really think in some cases a picture of a work of art can express more than the art itself.

  6. marley said

    I like this, though I think it ‘d be a bit too much for a kitchen lino! Especially after a drink or two! Looking forward to seeing more from this exhibition 🙂

  7. babooshka said

    Mesmerising.

  8. z said

    I have a few buildings like that too, ones I like more than the actual exhibits. Shhh, don’t tell anyone!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
