Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

One for the tourists

Posted by Jackie on May 27, 2008

I’ve seen this young guy quite a bit in the city centre, busking away. Usually I’ve seen him in Buchanan Street, but this picture is from when he was in Sauchiehall Street a couple of weeks ago. He has a little sign asking for a donation if you want to take a picture, which I think is fair enough – he always sounds pretty good to me, and it must be pretty galling to expend all that energy to entertain the crowds (bagpiping looks like pretty hard work to me!) and see people like me take pictures but then not leave a little tip. So go on – if you see him up in town give him a donation, and enjoy some quality piping!

5 Responses to “One for the tourists”

  1. marley said

    Glad he is a good piper. Sometimes they sound like they are strangling a cat!

    I’ve added a link to your blog in my post today as you won the competition! Well, you were the nearest! Check it out for the answer 🙂

  2. Katya said

    Jackie, loving Scottish Terriers as I do, I cannot think of any of the terrier events I’ve attended that didn’t begin with a piper! One of the best was a young girl…she was a terrific piper! A good piper is well worth a donation…I love bagpipes. A very nice photo!

  3. Nice looking fella, too – bummer, looks like he’s married ;D

    And, oh, yes, people, don’t be stingy. Leave a tip if you take a photo of a busker (they’ve gotta eat too!).

  4. Adam said

    Indeed a good piper is worth the donation. Even as a poor student when I was traveling I made sure to donate to the pipers!

  5. Adam said

    And yep, I just checked my pictures from when I was in Glasgow and I definitely have a picture of this same guy!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
