Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Narnia?

Posted by Jackie on June 16, 2008

Queen’s Park has two lakes, this one which is the larger one which is pretty much just water where the birds stretch their legs and have a good old swim (as well as fighting off the seagulls), and a smaller one to the side which has all the reeds and trees, and where the ducks, swans, coots and moorhens nest. I took this picture from a small mound overlooking the lake – although the flowers are pretty it was the remains of the lamp which caught my eye. It made me think of the Narnia stories, where for reasons I can’t remember now (it’s been a long time since I read them!) there’s an old-fashioned street-lamp in the middle of the forest.

I’ll be back to respond to comments in a few days’ time – hope you enjoy the pictures 🙂

2 Responses to “Narnia?”

  1. Katya said

    I love captures such as this….photos that make one stop and think…drink in a bit more deeply than just a glance! A very fine photo, indeed. My kids love the Narnia series!

  2. marley said

    This is a good shot. I can imagine you peeping over the undergrowth! I’m off to Greece for a week, so I’ll look forward to catching up with you when I’m back. 🙂

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
