Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Necropolis – close-up

Posted by Jackie on July 2, 2008

I’ve no idea what the story is behind this carving on one of the columns marking one of the graves, but it is a great illustration of the type of detail (and also, judging by the crumbling stone, the years of history) that you can find round every corner in the Necropolis.

I took a million photos while I was there (it’s a photographer’s dream!), but only captured a fraction of the place! I’ll show one or two more over the next couple of days, and keep the rest for odd days here and there 🙂

2 Responses to “Necropolis – close-up”

  1. Katya said

    That is so cool! I have never seen anything so elaborate!

  2. Dianne said

    a wonderful close-up – I can feel the texture.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
