Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Necropolis beauty

Posted by Jackie on July 3, 2008

Although you can see the face of this figure has partly worn away, there was something about it that I just thought was beautiful. I’m really in awe of the sculptor’s skill – they’ve managed to portray grief, longing, hope, prayer, and so much more, that can still be felt after all these years. Stunning.

8 Responses to “Necropolis beauty”

  1. Katya said

    Jackie, I agree…the sculptor seems to have captured a sad and languishing mood quite well. I looked through your series of photos posted at Flick’r…as I noted the graves that had become overgrown and (apparently) overlooked, it really made me think. We spend so much time in our lives getting things “just so”. I would assume that the people who are buried under these powerful and extravagent tributes must have been quite wealthy. As such, does it not seem somewhat sad that their final resting places have become no more than points of interest or curiosity? Seems to really bring to light the teachings of King Solomon….there is nothing new under the sun and that man really is soon forgotten when he/she leaves this world!!!Seems that the vast majority of our good works and reputation kind of just exit out along with us….

  2. Katya – isn’t it the fact that the true memorial to a person is how their spirit lives on in others. Funerals, gravestones, tributes and the like are not for the deceased but for those left behind.

  3. Loved all the shots on this great cathedral series.

    I’m going away for a few weeks. May you enjoy a lovely, sunny and dry, month of July. 🙂

    Cheers!

  4. Jackie said

    Interesting debate! I think it’s a bit of both (she says, firmly sitting on the fence!). Actually I wonder in the future what people will do to ensure their memory and legacy go on after they do. It wouldn’t surprise me if sites like myspace and blogs and suchlike become major objects of historical interest.

  5. marley said

    It really is stunning. The fact that is worn adds something to the figure. Great photo too.

  6. Kris said

    It has a sad beauty about it. Lovely capture.

  7. Katya said

    Uh oh, Jackie! I am usually the one sitting on the fence!!!! hahaha!

    Bill, I agree, what lives on is what we cultivated while here…The thing I guess I was saying is that although a generation (or two) might appreciate the deceased and care for their grave, after that, graves become overlooked and generally those who follow after just don’t even know where their ancestors are buried! One of Jackie’s photos (or two) depict terribly overgrown graves. One looks as though it is burried under vines.
    Somehow, that just strikes me as so sad…

  8. babooshka said

    It’s a fabulous portrait, if a gravestone can be a portrait, certainly sombre in tone. t is I agree sad, and I also agree with you within a few short generations, gravestones can go unloved.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
