Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Heading home

Posted by Jackie on July 29, 2008

This is a Glasgow view I really like. The platform at Central Station, looking south. I know once I see this I’m not far from home 🙂

10 Responses to “Heading home”

  1. Lara said

    in spite of the fact that I travel almost every day by train, I still like this view 🙂

  2. Sometimes look up – the roof is fantastic as well.

  3. april said

    I like stations; this is a beautiful one, looking old-fashioned. and it’s a wonderful feeling, being home again.

  4. Dianne said

    I love the sense of traveling through time.

    the trellis work (is that the right term?) is beautiful and the signals up ahead add such a sweet dash of color!

  5. marley said

    This is a nice station. It looks like a step back in time.

  6. babooshka said

    I tend to forget what a train station looks like living here, that and motorways. Your thoughts on the image represents home were very apt.

  7. Sven said

    I too like that place, after a visit to Glasgow of one week. Could you make it a Central Station series, or you already have in older posts?

  8. Becky said

    This is a gorgeous photo. It reminds me of my travels in Great Britain several years ago. I look back on that time with fondness. Thanks for sharing your world with us. I’ll be back, for sure.

  9. I dont miss going home by train! The problem is that i read muck less.

  10. James said

    I’m a recently arrived newcomer to Strathbungo and the south side. Only recently discovered how much cheaper the train is compared to the buses… Glasgow is very lucky to have kept such a well served suburban rail network. Although the trains I use are only half-hourly, I don’t mind getting to Central Station early – it’s a fine place to sit and wait, people watching and enjoying how, regardless of the weather outside, the sun always seems bright under that massive steel and glass roof.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
