Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Overgrown grave, Necropolis

Posted by Jackie on August 1, 2008

I totally forgot to sign up for the Daily Photo Blog theme day this month, so (just like last month) here’s a picture from the Necropolis. This grave marker was itself almost completely buried in the undergrowth. I’m not sure I’d want a fancy gravestone myself, but if I did I think I’d want it to end up like this. I think this looks beautiful.

7 Responses to “Overgrown grave, Necropolis”

  1. tash said

    I really like exploring YOUR Glasgow. (Saw your comment to Hilda). Keep on blogging!

  2. this is a good one in balck and white

  3. I think b&w makes this photo much more powerful. Well noticed.

  4. Katya said

    That really is a great shot, Jackie! The B&W adds an “ancient” tone, making it even more thought-provoking! Before spending some time in old cemetaries, I thought that the care-takers kept everything in order…I never realized it was the families themselves that kept the weeds off, etc….learn something new every day, eh?

  5. marley said

    This is a great photo. Really nice in black and white 🙂

  6. babooshka said

    I’m with you. Nuture reclaiming is the beautiful thing in itself.

  7. Beautiful and sad.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
