Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

a quick practice before the gig

Posted by Jackie on August 13, 2008

For the next week I’m going to show some of the pictures I took today at Piping Live! In George Square each day between 11 and 5 there is free entertainment, with lots of pipe bands strutting their stuff. I got there about 15 minutes early, and found four bands in various parts of the square warming up, much to the delight of the tourists, though if you’re not a fan of bagpipes then it’s probably not the place to be – four bands practising simultaneously was quite a sound!

Unfortunately I only managed to stay for the first band’s actual set. I know I’m a student and have a lazy reputation to maintain, but I did actually have to go to work!! But I was happy that I was able to wander around and take some more informal snaps too.

4 Responses to “a quick practice before the gig”

  1. Katya said

    Oh, what a treat! I can almost hear them! Wow, that is a lot of pipers piping!!! It must have been amazing. Thanks for sharing, and I look forward to even more photos!!!

  2. Lara said

    so nice! I like these shots of bands! looking forward for more!

  3. Adam said

    That looks like so much fun. I know us “lazy students” really never seem to have enough “lazy times” in my opinion!

  4. That’s a small band – 20-30 pipers is more common!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
