Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Shawlands Bowling Club

Posted by Jackie on August 20, 2008

Whenever I think of bowling I always think of an English village green type of place. It has surprised me to see so many bowling clubs around inner city Glasgow, including a concrete green at the foot of a tower block! This one is in Shawlands, on the south side, which is one of the more desirable of the south side postcodes as far as property prices etc go.

Edited to add: If you’d like to see some more fit and sexy Scotsmen, I highly recommend today’s post at Edinburgh Daily Photo.

8 Responses to “Shawlands Bowling Club”

  1. margaret said

    testing

  2. margaret said

    I found your page two months ago and sent the address off to my sister in Australia. We love all the photos. I trained as a nurse in Duke St Hospital{ long gone] My sister as a teacher over in the Byres Rd area.
    The Cathedral of St Andrew brought back memories, I used to go to Mass there. I saw the sculpture of the fireman after 911, thought that was the reason it was there.
    Thanks for the memories. Margaret in Canada.

  3. Wayne said

    We have a quite a few lawn bowling clubs. I walked by one a few days ago but, apart from a grounds keeper, no one was about.

  4. Lara said

    I never understood what is the fun in this… (grumpy :)) )

  5. Dido said

    ooo dear – yes it doesn’t really compare does it?! Still it’s a really good action shot, timing just as good!

  6. Jackie said

    Margaret – I’m so glad you and your sister like the photos. I have had a fair few expat weegies commenting on the blog, I’m glad to do my bit to bring happy memories 🙂

  7. marley said

    I like the way the photo peeps from behind the hedge. You weren’t spying were you?! Lol 🙂

  8. Curly said

    Hi from South Shields, nice picture you have here today. I think I’ve just about reached an age where I should take up bowling!

    I need your support, see my latest post at South Shields Daily Photo

    Photographers rights in the UK and worldwide are under increasing threat and we need to make a stand now!

    Unless something changes dramatically, this will be the last ever post at South Shields Daily Photo.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
