Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Borders steps

Posted by Jackie on August 22, 2008

You might think these impressive looking steps and columns are part of a concert hall or museum, but they actually belong to the back of the Borders bookshop! Opposite you can see the back of the Gallery of Modern Art (GoMA) which has similar steps and columns out the front.

Until recently these steps were where Glasgow’s goths used to hang out on a Saturday. As I understand it they’ve recently been moved on, but I’m not sure where they’ll end up next. Before these steps they used to hang around at Central Station.

I’m away for the Bank Holiday weekend, but magic pictures will still appear. In the meantime please head on over to South Shields Daily Photo, where Curly needs your support!

11 Responses to “Borders steps”

  1. Katya said

    Wow, those are definitely some very impressive entries! Woohoo!!!I often feel as though I lose myself when looking up at such awesome edifices!!!

    Heading over to Curly’s right now…

  2. Wayne said

    I’ve been in that Borders. As I recall, there is a pretty nice coffee shop/restaurant in there. And some books too. Am I remembering correctly, is the street in front a pedestrian precinct? Thanks, Jackie, have a nice break.

  3. Hilda said

    Cool! I take it the building is much older than Borders? šŸ™‚

    Have a wonderful trip!

  4. Lara said

    books are also important enough as to benefit of such wonderful architecture for their home!

  5. Becky said

    If only American bookshops had this amazing facade available to them. Wow.

  6. Since Jackie is away …

    Wayne – yes, it’s Buchanan Street outside the front door. That is a pedestrian precinct.

    Hilda – if memory serves me well, it used to be a Royal Bank of Scotland.

  7. marley said

    Better than a 60’s precinct! Nice photo. Enjoy the long weekend šŸ™‚

  8. This is such a great photo. It looks like you’ve stepped back in time.

  9. zsolt72 said

    I also like this photo. They look like ancient Greek columns.:)

  10. babooshka said

    I would definitely have plumped for the town hall. I did my bot for Curly, as it could be any of us. Really like the composition and perspective, those over used photography words but that do apply to this image.

  11. Livio said

    Beautiful photograph

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
