Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Buchanan Street

Posted by Jackie on August 24, 2008

This year I’ve noticed loads of these flower boxes in the city centre and further apart, mostly with red flowers it seems. I rather like the effect. This is in Buchanan Street, one of our main shopping streets.

I’m away for the Bank Holiday weekend, but magic pictures will still appear.

7 Responses to “Buchanan Street”

  1. Katya said

    Standing ovation from across the pond on this one, Jackie! I love the angle of this shot. I adore color, so this one really catches my eye! I love how the flowers draw my attention in and then the scene brings me right to the center of the street and photo!

  2. babooshka said

    I like the sense of space you’ve got in a busy city. Red blooms are a real boon for grey cities.

  3. Buchanan Street is now a pedestrian precinct – rather than being crowded with buses, trams, cars and people, now it’s only people.

  4. marley said

    Very colourful!

  5. Lara said

    ah, a perfect pose! really great shot!

  6. Becky said

    Ooh, I very much like these flower boxes. We should get some for our Main Street. They’re beautiful!

  7. They’re beautiful indeed – begonia, aren’t they ?
    It seems that authorities in towns from different countries share the same ideas (in Bucharest those boxes are bigger, contain little decorative trees and flowers and have been spread all over the town)!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
