Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Pollok House

Posted by Jackie on August 29, 2008

Yesterday’s lion was guarding the back garden entrance to Pollok House, which is a stately home in Pollok Park, a short walk from the Burrell Collection which I’ve featured here previously. The Maxwell family lived on the Pollok Estate since the mid 13th century – this house though was built in the 18th century. It contains a large collection of paintings collected by Sir William Stirling Maxwell in the 19th century, including an El Greco, though I think my favourite room was the library. Wall to wall, floor to ceiling bookshelves – I was in heaven, although unfortunately us hoi polloi aren’t allowed to get the books out to look at as they are of course old and valuable. Some of the titles looked fascinating though – histories of Glasgow and Scotland, and one impressive looking tome on Manx Celtic Crosses, which I would have loved to flick through! There is a bit more information about the house here.

Sadly taking pictures inside the house isn’t allowed, but I hope that this outside view gives some impression of how impressive it was.

4 Responses to “Pollok House”

  1. I enjoyed your comments about this house and I was glad to see that it is now part of the National Trust and will be preserved for others. Too bad about the books. I wonder if you can make arrangements to look at some of them under supervision. That would be great.

  2. Jackie,
    I like the red flower band going round the bottom of the house. And I like the doors and the windows. thanks for sharing!

  3. Katya said

    oh wow….I have always wondered what it would be like to live in a “grand” house. That is as far as it gets, though…wondering! ‘Tis a grand house, indeed!

    The cool thing about the books is that it gives you a hint of some books that have been printed…did you write down the names to make note of them? I know many people here love looking for old books that someone told them about or they read about!

    Gee, the Dr that did the back surgery on my husband nine years ago was a Maxwell! (quite famous in the US, too)

  4. Katya said

    Back once again, Jackie..thinking how funny that the house you featured is a “Maxwell” house, and the one I put up today is a “Maxfield” house! As I was sipping tea just a bit ago, it struck me funny!!!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
