Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Coo!

Posted by Jackie on August 31, 2008

My last picture for now from Pollok Park – near to Pollok House is a herd of Highland cattle, which are of course are as archetypally Scottish as haggises and Nessie. Known to the locals as “hairy coos”, I think they’re beautiful – though I wouldn’t want to get too close to those horns!

7 Responses to “Coo!”

  1. Jules said

    What a cutie but i agree those horns look dangerous!!!

  2. It’s nice to see cattle with their horns still on. Here in Germany there is the tendency to breed the horns out of them or to cut them.

  3. A gentle breed – except when defending young!

  4. marley said

    Ah yes, Scottish through and through! Great photo.

  5. I must say this picture says it all. I think these cattle are beautiful and while we don’t have them here in any numbers, we do have those Texas Longhorns. I mean they have to go through the gates sideways as the horns won’t fit face-on. Your photography is faultless.

  6. Katya said

    Aw, that is a sweet capture, Jackie! Love those BANGS! hehehe My Scotties would have long flowing bangs as well, but Mark makes me trim them so he can see their (soulfull!) eyes!

  7. Yes, Jackie, a distant relative, but nonetheless a relative!
    “Louis” appreciates this bovine publicity, even if it isn’t directly about him!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
