Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

statue with a Glasgow twist

Posted by Jackie on September 5, 2008

I’ve shown this statue of Wellington with his Glaswegian headgear before – it’s outside the Gallery of Modern Art, and more often than not is sporting a traffic cone. I was just messing about with the filters on my camera – unsurprisingly this is using the red one.

9 Responses to “statue with a Glasgow twist”

  1. Wayne said

    I believe this comes under the heading, ‘drunken revelry’. Not the photographer, the cone setters.

  2. Eileen said

    A Glasgow icon, if I’m not mistaken.

  3. verivaki said

    very funny

  4. Jackie, look back to my posting – wonder if there is any increase on two?

  5. marley said

    Students at their best! Ver funny. I like how he wears it at a jaunty angle!

  6. OMG, you still have that? I have a picture just like that from the last time I was in Glasgow, which must be 6 or 8 years ago. Must be a tradition by now.

    Sorry no comments in so long – new dimensions in overwork plus some travel.

  7. Jackie said

    This is indeed a Glasgow icon – and Marley it’s not necessarily students, the cones on this statue are a year-round phenomenon!

    An Honest Man, I too have a picture (featured here a few months ago) with the statue with two cones. I have checked the flickr group dedicated to this very statue, and haven’t seen any pictures with more than 2 on them, but I bet there are some out there somewhere! I shall keep an eye out for multiple conings!

  8. Katya said

    Hmmm….new meaning to the old Saturday Nite Live skits regarding “coneheads”, eh? hehehe
    Sorry….could not resist.
    Spoken by the one who, as a kid, hoisted someone’s underpants up the flagpole (gasp!!!!) at CHURCH CAMP!!!!!

  9. Becky said

    So the cone isn’t part of the statue? That would seem modern to me…

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
