Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Italianate?

Posted by Jackie on September 7, 2008

This is another view from the Lighthouse – I have absolutely no idea what this tower is, but it really looks Italian to me. I’m not sure that the seagull is particularly Italian though 🙂

12 Responses to “Italianate?”

  1. The seagull is ruling that roost for the moment! 😉 What a gorgeous shot. Good luck to Scotland’s soccer team. Though I am not an avid soccer (futbol) fan, I know how popular this sport has become around the globe. Good weekend!

  2. tash said

    Very nice tower, I agree. I went back & saw the seagull, he’s found himself a tower with a view.

  3. Hilda said

    Whatever it is, I love it too! All that brick looks great!

  4. Livio said

    Never I have seen a tower like this in Italy

  5. Lynette said

    Super shot!

  6. It may actually be a chimney. There was a fad in late 19th. early 20th century for disguising them in towns.

  7. babooshka said

    It looks mainland European to me too. Excellent perspective.

  8. Katya said

    Oh my! That is quite the structure! It sure is pretty and very impressive. That gull has a lotta gall, eh? As I look at the structure, it looks top-heavy!

    Wonderful capture!

  9. Isadora said

    To add more strange observations, does it not appear as though there are bottles lined up on either side there as if in a factory production line? Very odd and yet visually unique.

  10. Jackie said

    Livio – now you come to mention it I don’t think I’ve seen anything like it in Italy either. But when I saw it Italy was the first thing I thought of. I wonder why?

    Isadora, I love your bottles comment!

    Coltrane_lives, it turned out we needed more than luck, sadly 😦 Hopefully Wednesday’s match will be better.

  11. Mr Dido said

    I studied the Lighthouse at uni as part of an engineering project. This is the chimney from the original coal-fired boilers, which are no longer there, and it is meant to represent a withered stalk of a flower (tulip or crocus… can’t quite remember). The tower next to it, the one you climbed, I assume, represents the flower in bloom. Architects eh!

    The building was designed by the young C R Mackintosh in 1895 when he was an apprentice at Keppie architects – again, this is from memory, so I might not be entirely accurate! It was designed as the office and printing press of the Glasgow Herald newspaper. The building was derelict before being redesigned by Page & Park architects as The Lighthouse in 1999.

    Great blog!

  12. Becky said

    I love it! It looks like a tower to lock people in, to me. Too much British history, I guess! 🙂

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
