Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Diagram of an Object

Posted by Jackie on September 24, 2008

This is the bulk of the sculpture featured yesterday (keep comments and feedback coming by the way, I’m always looking to improve!). Unfortunately I can’t take a picture of the whole thing at the moment, as its backdrop is currently builders’ hoardings as the Mackintosh House in front of which this sculpture stands is being refurbished. I’ll try to remember to take a picture once the building work is finished. The sculpture always looks to me like it’s the frame of a chair but with the seat part missing.  The building in the background is the Round Reading Room of the University (no longer used as a reading room, but the name stuck!).

The sculpture is called Diagram of an Object, and is by Dhruva Mistry.

5 Responses to “Diagram of an Object”

  1. Deeleea said

    I’d be willing to bet you could get a good shot by lying on your back and focusing through the sculpture to the sky (even by not lying directly under it)… Especially early or late in the day when the light’s not coming down directly.

    My mantra with picture taking is never be afraid to get a different perspective, even if you look daft doing it…

  2. Wayne said

    It’s easy to say this now but I saw something in yesterday’s photo that made me think of the arm of a chair. I don’t know who gets credit for the sculpture and it may be because I automatically associate Glasgow with Rennie Mackintosh but I was reminded of his style.

    I can hear everyone saying, ‘sure, now he comes out with this stuff…….git!’

  3. Kris said

    My university never had sculptures. It did have a god-awful 1970s water feature commonly known as “the urinal”.

  4. Lara said

    looks intriguing!

  5. marley said

    It looks like a giant climbing frame!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
