Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Her name is Rio, and she dances on the sand ….

Posted by Jackie on September 25, 2008

The next two or three days I’m going to show you some sculptures from one of Glasgow University’s hidden gems. I almost don’t want to say where this is, as I only came across it by accident and it was a real oasis of calm in the midst of the busy campus – but that would be selfish! It’s a little courtyard round the back of the library and the Mackintosh House, and has a number of sculptures just sitting there. Some of them, it has to be said, are better than others, but even so the place was a real find.

This is one of the better ones, in my opinion, and the only one by a sculptor I’d heard of already – in fact, when I saw it my first thought was, “oh it’s by whatsisname”, and his name was on the tip of my tongue. When I saw the plaque I knew I’d got it right, even though I’d forgotten the actual name! (you’ll just have to take my word for that!).

The sculpture, of which this picture shows just a part, is called Rio and is by Eduardo Paolozzi.

7 Responses to “Her name is Rio, and she dances on the sand ….”

  1. I’m getting very jealous of all the installaion art and sculptures I keep finding on the dailies. Wether I like piece or not is a moot point it’s just I loke the idea od art being a part of the community. For a photographer and an artist Gary and I are in the wrong place.

  2. Wayne said

    Nice photo Jackie. I hadn’t heard of the artist. If pressed for a guess I wouldn’t have guessed Picasso but I think I can see his influence.

    Oh, and I believe you. you’ve never lied to us before.

  3. Katya said

    What a cool sculpture…looks very playful and fun. Glad you found this little oasis…perhaps others wouldn’t find it as appealing as you do…seems that way with me so many times..the places I love to go to retreat, others find sparse, barren, and dull. Strange world, isn’t it? Hope you can enjoy some time there!!!

  4. r2d2 gone wonky
    but i wouldnt mind one of these somewhere in hania
    i doubt we would see such a sculpture – too far our for the narrow minds of the locals

  5. Lara said

    I wish Romanians were so creative and display such interesting art, not the horrors in Bonn ICR exhibition… brrrrrrrr!

  6. This sculpture remindes me of an alien – with horns on his (or her?) head and a long trunk!

  7. Becky said

    Did you pull that title from a poem, or did you make it up? I really like it and am rather inspired by it.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
