Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Fooled you!

Posted by Jackie on October 2, 2008

Most people guessed a slate wall for yesterday’s mystery photo – and if I didn’t know myself, I would have said the same. Actually as you can see it is a slate vase, a sculpture that sits on the grass at the side of the Glasgow University Main Building, not far from the entrance to the chapel. It was presented to the university by Professor Sir Graeme Davies, who was a previous Principal of the University.

I couldn’t make up my mind which was the best answer, so I shall have to credit more than one of you for making me laugh yesterday.

Marley – mouldy flaky pastry
Gerald – the latest Tracey Emin offering, “Spidering Pollokshields”
Elaine – Andy Goldsworthy sneezes – actually that one probably is the overall winner. When I first saw this I assumed it might well be an Andy Goldsworthy (he is one of my three favourite sculptors), but I couldn’t see anywhere a plaque saying who created it, and I think if it had been AG they would have been proclaiming it from the rooftops.

7 Responses to “Fooled you!”

  1. Katya said

    Aha! Amazing! Today, when I took Michelle to work, I looked closely at the slate walls I had mentioned. I even photographed them!

    Well, you certainly DID fool everyone, and with the spider web, it certainly did appear to look like a stone wall! The pastry remark really made me snicker, as Michelle helps with my friend, Cindy, who bakes pies!!

  2. Elaine said

    Thanks Jackie! I never would have guessed the shape!

  3. Kris said

    I quite like this one.

  4. Gerald said

    What a brilliant sculpture. I’ve no idea who Andy Goldworthy is – obviously someone more inspired than TE (thanks for correcting my spelling).

  5. verivaki said

    brilliant stuff – but what are its contents???

  6. marley said

    I like this, very nice. It’s nice to see something a bit more unusual as a piece of street art. Thanks for the linky 🙂

  7. babooshka said

    So I should have followed my instincts on the curve. I did like Gerald’s comment. I loke the sculpture too now I see it in it’s whole form.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
