Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

I Predict a Riot

Posted by Jackie on October 14, 2008

I can’t help with a recipe for yesterday’s concoction, but I can give another giggle hopefully (well, this made me laugh anyway). When thinking about Glasgow and the beautiful game, most people will have heard of the two big football teams in Glasgow, Celtic and Rangers (known collectively as “The Old Firm”) who play in the SPL (Scottish Premier League). Glasgow actually has two other teams – Partick Thistle in the 1st division, and Queen’s Park (my local) in the 2nd. Partick Thistle (also known as “The Jags” for some reason) are the team that Glaswegians who want to be cool and not follow the pack support (personally I’m uber-cool and support a 3rd division team).

This little joke was spotted the other week at the Transport Museum, of all places.

7 Responses to “I Predict a Riot”

  1. Kate said

    Poor Thistle fans! I had to read it twice before I got the joke; perhaps I’m just slow. Yesterday’s and today’s photos are certainly thought provoking! Loved the comments yesterday; I couldn’t resist a second peek.

  2. Kris said

    Cruel, but true.

  3. Ex West Ender said

    Ouch! There are a lot more of us than you think- I know at least another three.
    But everything is relative – we are a giant compared to other clubs such as say,Stenhousemuir,for example.

    Why is our nickname ‘The Jags’? – Try sitting on a thistle!

  4. Jackie said

    Ah thanks for the Jags explanation ExWE – it all makes perfect sense! (I just love Glasgow logic!). And I’ll have you know Stenny are at the top of the division and having a cracking season just now! (mind you, there’s still plenty of time to squander it all).

  5. Following Partick T is not cool it is masochistic.

  6. ian said

    Family folklore goes that we’ve followed since the club’s inception, and I’ve stuck with the folklore. But I was nae in Glasgie rioting though!

  7. Becky said

    That’s great! Thanks for more laughs.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
