Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Kibble Palace succulents

Posted by Jackie on October 21, 2008

This is an archive photo, from the Kibble Palace glasshouse in the Botanic Garden. I thought this particular bit was succulent plants, but I’ve not been here for ages, and looking at the plants I’m not so sure now. I like it as you can see the effect of the domed roof as well as the actual plants.

8 Responses to “Kibble Palace succulents”

  1. Katya said

    They are definitely green plants! I like this photo, too! The lines of the building are so eye-catching! A very beautiful photo!

  2. tog said

    The plants in the front are pitcher plants. Some of them are native of north Florida. Other carnivorous plants likely fill that part of the greenhouse.

  3. This photo has a funny effect on my eyes – they keep trying to cross! probably drawn that way by the frames of the panes. Good photograph.

  4. JM said

    As Tog said they are carnivorous plants. Anyway they are amazing and the greenhouse is fantastic!!! Love the design, I would spend there a couple of hours! 🙂

  5. Lara said

    looks like a nice place for a relaxing afternoon!

  6. marley said

    I agree with Tog, they look like fly catching plants. I like the greenhouse, very architectural.

  7. Ruby said

    I was born in Glasgow, but have never visited (apart from being born there, obviously). I’m really pleased to find your blog to find out about the city I’m from!

  8. Becky said

    This reminds me a little bit of Kew Gardens in London which I visited on my second day in the city. It was great fun, and I really enjoyed seeing all of the vivid greenery in the middle of September.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
