Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

View west

Posted by Jackie on October 26, 2008

This is the view from the top of the Adam Smith Building, one of the teaching and office blocks of Glasgow University. The building in the foreground is Lilybank House, which houses (I think) the Department of Economic and Social History. The view is looking west, I love that you can see the hills beyond the city, and if you look closely just above the horizon on the left you can see an easyjet plane coming in to land at Glasgow Airport.

Don’t be fooled by the blue sky though. Within an hour of this picture being taken, the glass of the window was covered in raindrops and the sky was a dark, grim, mucky and very angry grey. A couple of hours later and a bit of blue sky was seen trying to emerge again (not too successfully). It really is all 4 seasons in one day here – several times a day.

[I’ve clearly had a senior moment, and tomorrow’s post appeared today as well as today’s.  I did the same thing with my Sibiu blog a couple of days ago.  I’ve hidden it for now, and it will reappear tomorrow!)]

5 Responses to “View west”

  1. tash said

    Blue skies and more lovely old brick buildings. & one of my faves – Adam Smith. (To a SoCalifornian – 4 seasons in one day sounds like a lot of fun — at least for 1 day 🙂

  2. dianne said

    I love across the roof top views!!

  3. lovely to see you’ve got a blue sky – even if it is cold, it’s a beautiful view

  4. This is a great view and I made it bigger so I could see the jet coming in! Very nice.

  5. Ian said

    A beautiful view; I could stare at it all day…

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
