Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Where shall we go today?

Posted by Jackie on November 3, 2008

This sign is on the north bank of the Clyde, near the Exhibition Centre and the other side of the river from the Science Centre. In order to get your bearings, the right hand arrow is pointing to the city centre and beyond to Edinburgh, the middle one is pointing to Paisley and Carlisle, and the left hand one is pointing to Loch Lomond and Inverness.  I’m not sure, but I don’t think they’re intended as “as the crow flies” arrows – otherwise either I’m confused or they’re not entirely right!

Over the next week or so I’m going to post some of the pictures I took last week when I was out and about round the Science Centre. This week I’m going to prioritise the ones which feature autumn leaves, before the leaves all disappear!

By the way, that is my shadow bottom right of the picture. Whoops!

6 Responses to “Where shall we go today?”

  1. tash said

    so many choices, where is one to go?? That’s an interesting post too.
    Look forward to more shots of Science center.

  2. Hilda said

    That’s a cool-looking sign! The chain and arrow don’t quite make sense to me, but it looks great nevertheless.
    ;D

  3. Lara said

    what a cool sign! it’s nice to see something like that, not only the boring ones… :). Nice to see your shadow too :)!

  4. Ex West Ender said

    Dear Jackie,
    Belated Happy 1st Birthday!
    Thanks for your pics/comments over the last year, they really are appreciated.
    The morning office cuppa wouldn’t be the same without my daily Glasgow fix.

    Re today’s photo- perhaps the arrow pointing to Edinburgh is deliberately wrong. (only joking!)

  5. Jackie said

    Thank you 🙂 Hilda I presume the chain is to represent the river’s shipping past, as it looks like the sort of chain that would have a whopping great anchor attached to it. Maybe (just guessing here, but it didn’t look out of place or inappropriate so would be my logical guess).

  6. PJ said

    Hi, Jackie. Thanks for stopping by my blog. It was quite a day!
    I looked at the enlargement of this photo and there’s a lot of detail here. It’s a work of art all on it’s own. If if it isn’t quite accurate it certainly would make me curious.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.