Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

SECC

Posted by Jackie on November 5, 2008

The Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre (SECC) is a major exhibition, conference (well duh!) AND concert venue in Glasgow. It’s on the north bank of the river, opposite the new BBC studios and kind of diagonally opposite the Science Centre. It’s often referred to locally as the Armadillo – I’ll show a photo tomorrow which will show better why.

The building in the background is the Crowne Plaza Hotel – it has reflective glass all over, so in the right place you can get some cracking reflections. From the Squinty Bridge and the south side of the river the SECC is reflected in it, it’s pretty impressive (though I didn’t get any of those pictures this time).

6 Responses to “SECC”

  1. Hilda said

    Looks like it can collapse into a compact ball — easy to understand why it’ll be nicknamed the armadillo. 🙂

  2. PJ said

    Jackie,
    Thanks for stopping by. McCain just past the torch to Obama with a very gracious speech. I hope I wake up tomorrow morning and find this isn’t a dream.
    I’ll come back and peruse your photos, I love the large photo format.

  3. Katya said

    Ha! As soon as I saw those “sections” of the SECC, I thought, “looks like an armadillo!!!!” Never saw one in person, though!

    The hotel looks like a very cool building to photograph. I love doing reflection shots…they have so much depth and beg the viewer to look deeply!!!!

  4. Dianne said

    that is a cool building! reminds me a bit of the Olympic Center in Montreal. I have to dig up my photos, I’m most likely totally wrong!

    thank you so much for sharing yesterday with all of us here, across the pond, where today is a good good day!

  5. marley said

    It looks like a mini Sydney Opera House! You’ve even got a mini Sydney Harbour bridge!

  6. Rudy said

    Jackie, thanks for the wonderful feedback you left at LAGDP (AntiguaDailyPhoto). I can see why this building is known as the armadillo… it resembles one.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
