Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Exhibition at Art de Caf

Posted by Jackie on November 21, 2008

On Wednesday I went to an exhibition at this place, Art de Caf in the Merchant City. Art de Caf is a wine bar with an exhibition space, in the Old Sheriff’s Court Building (which is also the home of the Scottish National Youth Theatre). The exhibition I went to was by a friend of mine, and was very good – it’s on till this Sunday so if anyone local is around and fancies a bit of culture, it’s worth a look. Details of the exhibition are here and here’s an article about the most controversial piece in the exhibition from the Sunday Herald. I’m glad to give it a plug – too bad the paintings are way out of my price range, I just had to make do with spending a couple of quid on a Danish pastry 🙂

7 Responses to “Exhibition at Art de Caf”

  1. Wayne said

    Richard Whincop is clearly having lots of fun with his work. I’m a fan of realism and would have enjoyed the chance to see the exhibition.

    As far as Hirst is concerned no amount of public ridicule of him would be too much. Except that he probably thrives on it. I’m glad it’s not just me that thinks he’s a charlatan.

  2. Bob Crowe said

    The space looks industrial or prison-like. It would be interesting to see the interior of the gallery-cafe to find out if the atmosphere is different.

  3. JM said

    Very original paintings. I especially like those with people looking at artworks. The framings are just great!
    Also like the gates and the atmosphere of the place housing the exhibition.

  4. Ex west Ender said

    Jackie, thanks for the links which were really interesting. That’s another one to add to my list of places to go when I next visit Glasgow.

    Your friend seems a very talented painter. The two paintings that took my eye were both already sold. Does this mean that I have good taste or was it because they were the (relatively)cheaper ones?

    Damien Hirst certainly gets people talking about art. He reflects much of our current society in that he has become both a ‘celebrity’ and a ‘brand’.
    Still, it’s good to see another artist benefit from his notoriety.

    A Danish pastry can be a work of art. Have a nice weekend!

  5. Lunarossa said

    I like the paintings, a “observing art” sort of theme. The people remind me vaguely of Vettriano’s works. Have a nice weekend.Ciao. Antonella

  6. babooshka said

    Interesting artwork. I like exhibitions, but we rarely get them here, so nether of us get the chance to exhibit much. Established artists always do well, but I like exhibitions to see and buy the emerging talent.

  7. Becky said

    Interesting thing…when I was in London studying (spent 3 months there in 2003), I loved going to art galleries and museums. Somehow they just aren’t as enticing back here in the States. I wonder why that is…?

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
