Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Christmas market

Posted by Jackie on November 23, 2008

The other day Marley at Cheltenham DP showed a picture of the Christmas market. Only a couple of days before I’d taken this picture in Argyle Street, where as you can see the market is still a work-in-progress. It’s looking like it will be up and running soon though. The stall with the bell tower (how grand!) is I think going to be a German sausage stall.

11 Responses to “Christmas market”

  1. Ian said

    I was lucky enough to be in Manchester and Bruges last year for their Christmas Markets; such a beautiful and entertaining event. And perfect given the shorter and cooler days you have over Christmas there.

  2. Sometimes I think the anticipation of Christmas is almost better than Christmas. Not in a cynical way though, I do love Christmas, this picture just made me look forward to it.
    Nice shot.

  3. Wayne said

    This is not something I’m familiar with Jackie. Is it a market to buy gifts or is it more like a small fair?

    We have craft fairs here at Christmas where people sell what I imagine is mostly handmade items. I am cynical about Christmas so I no longer get involved. I like the lights though and some of the Christmas baking.

  4. Hilda said

    Ooh, what fun! I hope you can take pictures for us between your shopping!

  5. Jackie said

    Wayne, it’s a German Christmas market, so you can get stuff like gluhwein (mulled wine, mmmm), bratwurst, and other seasonal fare, plus probably small Christmas gifts – tree decorations and stuff.

  6. mike said

    Hello from New York! I love also when you first start seeing the decorations going up.

  7. i’m looking forward to some lovely shots of this market once it is up and running

  8. Lunarossa said

    Hi Jackie, I love Xmas markets! I live 8 years in Germany and I miss their Gluehwein…but the British ones are not bad either. I usually go to the one in Lincoln which is only on the first weekend in December and it is full of real German stalls. I will plan a trip to Glasgow next year. It’s growing more and more on me thanks to you! Have a nice week. Ciao. Antonella

  9. marley said

    It looks like it’ll be a bit grander than ours! A bell tower…

  10. Katya said

    I lived in NYC for a year several years ago….boy, was the excitement of Christmas in the air as the city began “decking the halls”!!! I guess that is one element I totally miss living here in the woods. The raccoons, foxes, deer and squirrels just don’t “get it”…and the bears? sheesh…they TOTALLY miss it!!!!

    Your photo captures the spirit in the air! Thank you for sharing!!!

  11. Becky said

    How fun! What exactly is a Christmas market? Do you buy things related to Christmas? Or is it just called that due to the fact that it’s there only during the Christmas season?

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
