Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

January 2009 Theme Day – Best Shot of 2008

Posted by Jackie on January 1, 2009

IMGP5592

As it is January 1st, it must be another Theme Day! This time it is our best photo from 2008. Some people are quite creative about this one – reshooting one they really liked, or posting someone else’s photo from another daily photo blog, or running a competition so that the January 1st photo is the community’s favourite, or putting up a never-before-seen photo that they’d been saving for the occasion. Me, I’ve shown this photo before, but as I put it on the blog on a Saturday and I seem to have fewer visitors at weekends, I thought I’d give it another airing as I really like it and would like some more people to see it. It’s a large sculpture called “Tools for the Shaman” by Jake Harvey, and can be found in the little hidden sculpture garden round the back of the library at Glasgow University.

I’m away for a few days for the New Year, so won’t be able to respond to comments till next week. Thank you though for visiting and commenting, and I wish you all a very happy 2009!

151 blogs are taking part in the theme day this month. Click here to view thumbnails for all participants

11 Responses to “January 2009 Theme Day – Best Shot of 2008”

  1. Hilda said

    I’ve looked at the largest size and I still say it looks like fuzzy stone! 😉 Wonderful textures!

    Happy theme day!

  2. Ham said

    I love the texture in this, virtually tactile (did I just say that? 😉 )

    Happy new year to you and all yours

  3. The pieces are lovely although I’d love to see a shot that gave it scale too!

    I hope you are having a great break, and that 2009 turns out fantastically well for you.

    Cheers!

  4. Great choice. I love all the textures in this picture and they are all so distinct. Happy New Year to you and your family.

  5. marley said

    Happy New Year Jackie! I liked this one the first time and I still like it now!

  6. babooshka said

    Well chosen and to me you have a had a lot of conteneders. I agree about re posting an image that sometimes slips under the radar. A very Happy New Year To you.

  7. Kris said

    Happy New Year! Merry New Year? Hmmm…

    I love the textures on this one. A great choice.

  8. Buck said

    Nice choice. The textures of the tool marks are reaching out to me!

  9. maria said

    you’re right about this one – it really is your best shot!

  10. I don’t know what else to say. Simple yet attractive …..

  11. The texture is very interesting. Even if late I hope you let me wish you a Very Very Happy New Year !!!!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
