Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Iced over

Posted by Jackie on January 2, 2009

IMGP6369

Back at Queen’s Park, here is the upper (smaller) pond. There were still ducks and moorhens (or were they coots – I think we had this debate before but I can’t remember which was which!) on the pond, but both this and the lower, larger pond were icing over so there was less room for swimming. I did see a couple of ducks sliding on the ice, but they weren’t close enough to photograph, sadly!

I’ve no idea what the red sticky plant is on the bottom right of the picture, but whenever I see it I always want to try to take a picture. Haven’t taken one yet that I’m really pleased with – the brightness of the red never comes across in the pictures.

11 Responses to “Iced over”

  1. Ian said

    Wow. Stunningly beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

  2. “Louis” thanks you for your visits to his blog. He’s been so busy with his new espresso shop he hasn’t had time to visit very often, much less comment.

    All best wishes to you this New Year!

  3. maria said

    talk about freezing
    these places are best seen from photos!

  4. Ex West Ender said

    Lovely composition and, with the red sandstone tenement in the background, it could only be Glasgow.
    Thanks for the all the time and effort you have put in throughout 2008 to bring us our daily pic.
    Happy New Year and all the best for 2009!

  5. Katya said

    Jackie, this is an extremely lovely and peaceful photo! You found a terrific angle, and it is so perfect with the people walking on the other side of the pond and the buildings in the background!

  6. Marc said

    I’m starting to like Queen’s Park.
    Btw would be great if you could get the images enlarged on the blog itself. Saves a bit of clicking, which most people try to avoid doing too much of. Should be easy to set in WP. Don’t know exactly how to in the .com version, because I have a self-hosted one. Good luck!

  7. marley said

    Brrrr…it’s cold! This is a great wintery photo. The red sticky plant is Cornus (Dogwood) Don’t let it be said that I don’t have my uses!

  8. babooshka said

    I’m no botanist or gardener so red sticky is my limit too. It’s such a still image so peaceful.

  9. Great composition ! the angle was perfect…..

  10. Lunarossa said

    Love the “red sticks” as well, not matter how they’re called. They look so beautiful next to the green leaves covered with white frost! Queen’s Park really looks fantastic…All the ebst. Ciao. Antonella

  11. mike said

    I like the building in the background. It makes the picture.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
