Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

More ironwork

Posted by Jackie on January 5, 2009

IMGP6105

Although I wouldn’t want to have to drag heavy shopping up these steps, I do think this beautiful ironwork makes the long haul up to the front door a bit more inviting! This is just off the Great Western Road.

9 Responses to “More ironwork”

  1. Katya said

    That is really lovely and it seems like this type of work belongs to a bygone era. It lends such a romantic air wherever present! And yes, I agree the load might just be lightened by such a beautiful entry!

    Very nice photo!

  2. A good one but I think you should have posted more close-up shots of this beautiful ironwork…

  3. Andrew said

    Gorgeous looking building too Jackie.

  4. Sven said

    Complete with upward knobs to keep children away!

  5. Lunarossa said

    I wouldn’t mind carrying heavy shopping if I could live in a place like this! I could always employ a butler!!! :)))

  6. Hilda said

    I love stone, wood and iron! This is beautiful!

  7. marley said

    What a grand entrance! Love the detail of the ironwork.

  8. mike said

    I love the design of the ironwork also.

  9. Anon said

    I know those steps very well. Had to haul a very heavy bicycle up them. The former drawing office of Gillespie Kidd & Coia Architects (of the Cardross Seminary et al, and retrospect-ed in 2008 at the Lighthouse) is off this close.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
