Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Buchanan Street Station

Posted by Jackie on January 14, 2009

IMGP4106

Another old one. This is the entrance to the subway station on Buchanan Street. I remember not that long after I first moved here reading something in the papers about how the authorities were having to clamp down on teenage lads who would get up on the top here with their bikes and launch themselves down the hill from the roof of the station. I’ve never seen anyone do that I must say – I don’t think I’d want to be in the way, you can probably get a bit of speed up starting up there! [Disclaimer/public safety notice: don’t try this at home kids – or on Buchanan Street either!]

9 Responses to “Buchanan Street Station”

  1. Katya said

    What a lovely approach to a subway! NOT like NYC!!!!!! I love the glass..

    I can just see those teens flying through the air “with the greatest of ease”! Kids seem to have no fear, nor sense of right from wrong sometimes!!

    Beautiful photo and makes me want to see Scotland even more.

  2. Hilda said

    Now that you mention it, that is mighty tempting! 🙂

  3. Scott said

    You can see that the glass is a bit cleaner then than it has been of late Jackie!

  4. I still think of Buchanan Street Station as being the British Rail one – showing my age since it has long since vanished; closed in 1966 and demolished in 1971.

  5. margaret said

    Love all your photos. When Dusk appeared two days in a row I thought my computer was on the blink.

  6. Layclerk said

    This close to Darwin’s birthday I suspect any teenage lads who tried what you mention would be ample proof of the scientist’s theory!

  7. Linda said

    Lucky Glasgow with a subway. Well, we might have trams one day…

  8. maria said

    i can imagine the temptation for those lads must be great
    imagine sitting on one of the seats below and have a flying cycling teenager whipping over your head…

  9. Becky said

    That actually sounds like fun…but dangerous and frightening as well. But then, I’m not a teenage boy. And never was. 🙂

    By the way, when I started reading that sentence about authorities having to get after teenage boys for climbing up there…the bikes thing wasn’t the direction I thought you were going! I’m glad it turned out this way.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
