Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Blast from the Past

Posted by Jackie on January 16, 2009

IMGP5221

Right, I’ve had enough of dark grey miserable days and cold wet stuff falling out of the sky. I’m putting this picture up to remind me what Glasgow looks like on days when it’s summer and sunny and there are leaves on the trees.

What’s with the title? Well, this view over the city from Queen’s Park will never be quite like this ever again. If you look at the picture on flickr (click on the picture here and it’ll take you there) I’ve added a note highlighting the Stirlingfauld Place flats. This was taken at the end of May last year, just a couple of weeks before Stirlingfauld Place was demolished (blast, gettit? Did you see what I did there?). Actually this was my original plan for a vantage point to watch the demolition, but sadly a couple of days after taking this there was the terrible murder in Queen’s Park and it was closed for a few weeks while the investigation took place. I haven’t been back to the park all that much since then, but when I do I think of Moira (I’m sure I’m not the only one) – she was English, just a couple of years older than me, and had moved to Glasgow just a few years ago, and by all accounts had settled well and really loved it here.

10 Responses to “Blast from the Past”

  1. tash said

    Lovely view — hope you get some sunny skies soon. We, on the other hand are hoping for colder weather and some rain soon. The summer-in-January deal is not so great if it lasts this long.
    I like your pun on the title.
    The murders sounds like something out of Ian Rankin’s novels, really horrible. It is probably a good idea to avoid the park when by yourself.

  2. Ruby said

    Beautiful photo – and a nice record of the place as it was.

    I am also really sick of grey days. Photos look so dull with no UV light, but the sun’s out far hardly any time at all when it does show its face.

  3. Buck said

    I’m with you, Jackie! I have 3 feet of snow covering the ground and -18C temperatures. Much prefer the lovely green you’ve pictured here!

  4. “Louis” appreciates your recent visit. He’s been so busy with his new espresso shop, he’s had little time to reciprocate.

  5. Becky said

    What a horrible story! I am so sad to hear about Moira.

    On a less sad note, thank you for the green! I think I needed that, too. It cheered me immensely. 🙂

    Sorry I’ve been absent…in December my husband and I found out we are going to have our first child, and things have been a bit…distracting! 🙂

  6. Katya said

    Jackie, I just read several articles about Moira’s death and the accused man. That is so sad. It just goes beyond imaginings how a man can attack and kill another like that. It is awful that the justice system takes so long, as well. It sounds like Moira’s family was pretty close, and it must just seem like the thing is dragging on and on for them.

    That photo above just sets the Irish blood in me to say “ahhhhhhhhhhhhh!” We won’t be seeing any green for a few months and right now, it is REALLY cold! (we are getting wind along with our lung-biting temperatures!!!) As much as I love the cold, gotta admit…that green is looking mighty inviting!

  7. Layclerk said

    At least he was arrested, so you don’t have to worry about that particular person still being on the loose. Despite rumours to the contrary, the police actually do a good job you know!

  8. Nice to see a bit of green again, pity the photo came with such a sad story.

  9. what a sad story – it’s good people still keep moira in their minds

  10. Jackie, it is really good to see so much green trees…

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
