Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Old Fruitmarket

Posted by Jackie on January 26, 2009

IMGP6418

Here’s a view away from the stage at the Old Fruitmarket. I think this is such a fantastic venue, I love coming to gigs here. It was actually a functioning market from the end of the 19th century right up to the 1970s, and is now part of the City Halls complex – the Concert Hall next door is the home of the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra. As you can see the restoration has kept the character of the market, with many of the stallholder signs still on display.

In other news, Lara tagged me last week and asked for 6 things people don’t know about me. I’ve had a job coming up with 6, which I’ve tried to make blog/Scotland-related as far as I could.

1. I first discovered the City Daily Photo Blog networks via London Daily Photo. I still take a peek at that blog most days.

2. I’ve lived in Glasgow since 2005, when I came here to the University. Prior to that I lived in London for 15 years, and had a proper job!

3. As well as this blog, I also do Sibiu Daily Photo. As part of my PhD fieldwork I spent 3 months there in 2007, and took a million pictures, hence the blog. What lots of people don’t know is that I also spent 2 months in Chisinau, which is the capital of the Republic of Moldova. I didn’t take enough pictures to do a blog for there too (it’s not that kind of place, though I bet if I lived there for longer I’d make a good go of it!).

4. The only Scottish island I have visited so far is Harris (and Lewis, but as they’re 2 bits of the same island I’m counting them as 1) which is where we went for our honeymoon. We’re hoping to visit more this year. We definitely recommend Harris, it was gorgeous!

5. On the first day of our honeymoon (New Years Day last year) I had a comedy fall (fortunately at the bottom of the mountain and not at the top – I slipped over on wet grass about 200 yards from the car!) and ended up on crutches for a week and needed 4 months of physio. On the last day of our honeymoon our car died and we had to get rescued and taken home by the RAC. I’m hoping the next holiday will be much less eventful!

6. Still trying to think of #6!

7 Responses to “Old Fruitmarket”

  1. Katya said

    What a fabulous place this looks to be! Wow! I love the setting, for sure. Great shot, too!

    #4 of your “6 things” is so cool! When I was in a knitting frenzy when my kids were little, I used to look at pictures of Lewis, as Alice Starmore lives there. I would look through the pages and read about it, over and over…and dream about someday seeing it live! As for #5, EGADS! What a way to spend your honeymoon!

  2. i’ve really enjoyed getting to know you better jackie, through this little meme you posted. you’ve had the best of both worlds – living in london (fantastic city), then leaving for something quieter. a bit like myself, although wellington (nz) isn’t as big or exciting as london!

    by the way (from my blog) i’ve also seen hugh fearley-whittingstall cooking snails – he’s another down-to-earth, hands-on cook. as for that other cook you mentioned, well, i almost put her name in the post, but decided last minute against it!

  3. Scott said

    I agree about this being a great place for a gig, although the last one I went to there was Russell Howard, where the support act had to stop his performance after a member of the audience had had a fit!

  4. Lara said

    oh, thank you! those are some secrets worth sharing :). looking forward for no. 6 :)), I had trouble thinking about it too… and for the first day of the honeymoon, for sure is unfogettable :)!

  5. Obviously Jackie just wants to be the centre of attention πŸ™‚

    I agree about the old fruit market – for once the restoration was done in the best possible taste.

  6. Jackie said

    Haha, I could have done without that attention! (not to mention PAIN!). Though props to A&E in Stornoway who were great πŸ™‚

  7. marley said

    That is a great venue. I’m pleased to see they kept the original features.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
