Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Burrell shadows

Posted by Jackie on February 17, 2009

IMGP6539

No this isn’t a church, but the entrance of the Burrell Collection which we visited the other weekend. I’m really pleased with everything about this picture – the shadows on the wall, the 2D effect of the building, the sky. It even features my husband (or at least, part of his head anyway!)

It’s nice when that happens 🙂

9 Responses to “Burrell shadows”

  1. Lunarossa said

    What a great b&w shot! Love the reflections of the tree branches on the building. Now, I’m intrigued. Is your husband the tall boy on the extreme right? Looks very young from the profile. Does he have red hair? Please say so, I love red hair! Ciao. A.

  2. I love the tree reflection! Great shot!

  3. Scott said

    Brilliant effects on this one Jackie – the shadow of the trunk reaching up on the wall of the museum and extending seemingly into the actual leaves from a tree is about as surreal as it gets. Good stuff!

  4. I like this post a lot and I also liked your previous post. Both are interesting photography subjects.

    Abraham Lincoln
    Brookville Daily Photo

  5. Dianne said

    it’s a beautiful shot 🙂

  6. Jackie said

    Thank you all!

    Scott, I liked the shadow/real tree effect too. Of course, that was what I was going for and it wasn’t a lucky accident at all*.

    Lunarossa sorry to disappoint you – on both counts! That’s not my husband (he’s younger than me, but not THAT much!), and he’s not a redhead. You can only see his hair on this picture!

    * not entirely true

  7. Great reflection. You did a great job by shooting this image in B&W.

  8. Katya said

    I can certainly see why you are so pleased with this photo, Jackie…it is a very excellent study in B&W! Great job!!!

  9. babooshka said

    This is very atmospheric. I can hear the music to the Omen over this. The light, play of shadows are really striking.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
