Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Queen’s Park gate

Posted by Jackie on April 25, 2009

IMGP6750

I can’t remember if I’ve ever shown these gates before – they’re at the entrance to Queen’s Park, at the bottom of Victoria Road. They’re a well-known sight – the flickr Glasgow Southside group was considering using a picture of these gates as their icon, though they went with the Queen’s Cafe ice cream in the end.

8 Responses to “Queen’s Park gate”

  1. Jacob said

    Striking and very attractive…almost lacy in their effect.

  2. Yes they are very pretty.

  3. Katya said

    Wow….there is just so much to SEE in this photo! My first impression was exactly what Jacob said above…lacey! The gate itself is so striking, as well as the pillar with the beautiful lamp! But then the green of the trees!!!! Wonderful photo, Jackie!!! It would make a lovely jigsaw puzzle!!!!

  4. Bill B. said

    They certainly are impressive looking.

  5. Beautiful gates! I love the design.

  6. Instead of the gates,I enjoyed those huge trees. And I was not the official photographer, but requested the organiser to allow mow to take some images.

  7. Instead of the gates,I enjoyed those huge trees. And I was not the official photographer, but requested the organiser to allow me to take some images.

  8. Miriam said

    I used to go to Queen’s Park almost every day when I lived in Govanhill. Loved those gates, I always felt as though I was somewhere impressive and a little bit mysterious when I walked through them.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
