Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Magnolia

Posted by Jackie on May 6, 2009

IMGP6772

Given that this is meant to be a little series on the Hidden Gardens, I’ve focused rather a lot on the architecture! So here’s a taste of the planting – magnolia is one of my favourites. I’m not sure what the bush is in front of it though, but I do seem to have some expert gardeners reading (Linda, Marley, that’s you I’m talking about!) so I’m confident someone will be able to identify it 🙂

9 Responses to “Magnolia”

  1. You’re magnolia is behind the ones down here – almost all flowers are gone.

  2. Scott said

    No idea what these are Jackie, but they look nice nonetheless. For someone that knows pretty much nothing about gardening, I still love the Hidden Gardens, and normally head there once or twice in the Summer when the weather’s good.

  3. maria v said

    what beautiful colours in the unknown bush – love the red on green

  4. Andrew said

    Never seen anything like the bush in the foreground in Australia. I love magnolias. We have plenty of them here, but the south of the United States is probably the best place in the world to see them. They are huge. Yours looks like a soulangeana. We also have negri, which is a dark purple and stella which is white.

  5. Katya said

    I guess we are somewhere between you and Bill in Scotland. Our trees are in full bloom right now and looking quite beautiful. I personally don’t have anything so pretty, but ah well! My Lilac bushes are going to be bursting into bloom very soon.

  6. JM said

    Magnolias are gorgeous, but my attention was caught by the bush next to this. It looks fabulous and I also don’t know what it is…

  7. Was cloudy over here in EK today.
    By the looks of things you got some sunshine!

  8. marley said

    Could be Photinia Red Robin or an azalea or a Camellia! Thats my guesses! Magnolias are pretty, though ours have finished flowering down here.

  9. Zazuza said

    Magnolias are amazing! I like them a lot, too!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
