Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Stairway to Heaven

Posted by Jackie on May 15, 2009

IMGP6829

I know I said yesterday’s photo was the last from the Botanics, but I went back again (with batteries fully recharged) and took a load more pictures, so can’t resist just one more. This is in the palms section of the glasshouse – I’ve no idea where the staircase leads, but I thought the effect was pretty.

I really did take quite a lot of pictures (whoops) so I’ll drop them in every so often over the next few weeks.

10 Responses to “Stairway to Heaven”

  1. Katya said

    Hmm…the very fact that it is so ornate just adds to its *mystique”! Looks like a very lovely (although probably far too HOT!) spot! Lovely photo!!!!

  2. Hilda said

    Gorgeous staircase! Beautiful palms too. I hope you’ll go up one of these days and find out what’s up there!

  3. maria said

    it really is very pretty

  4. It is not open for visitors to climb unfortunately. If I remember correctly it was the original way up to open/close the vents at the top of the glasshouse.I think they are now electronically controlled.

  5. That’s a really great shot.

  6. JM said

    I love the Victorian look in this kind of staircase.

  7. m_m said

    Excellent! It looks so secret:)
    We have tagged you:) More information on our blog:)

  8. marley said

    That spiral staircase looks really good amongst the plants. Look forward to seeing all your photos!

  9. Awesome heavenly picture but it makes me think I’m in Asia somewhere instead of Glasgow. I like your blog pictures which make we want to visit your city. All the best from a new CDP guy and greetings from Minnesota, USA!

  10. Alec said

    Okay, I’ve finally settled on a posting handle.

    Finally detailed close shots like this make me grieve for a working lens.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
