Glasgow Daily Photo

A photo a day from Scotland’s biggest city.

Lion King

Posted by Jackie on May 20, 2009

IMGP6837

I think this is my favourite of the pictures I took last week, I was really pleased with this one. This is one of the lions at the foot of the war memorial in George Square (you can see it, somewhat bleached out, in yesterday’s photo), with the City Chambers behind.

In other news, I was recently tagged by m_m from Nowy Sacz Daily Photo (a blog that is well worth a visit!). The idea of this tag is simply to write down 6 things that make me happy, then tag 6 others. I’ve decided that as doing that many links doesn’t make me happy (!) instead I will invite anyone who comments on today’s photo to also tell me something that makes them happy. I am currently writing up another chapter of my thesis and it’s a bit stressful, so hopefully your happy things will cheer me up and take my mind off the agonies of writing! Anyway, here are my 6 guaranteed-to-make-me-happy things (in no particular order):

1. Scottish islands. I’ve only been to two and driven through another, but they’ve all been stunning and just have an atmosphere like nowhere else. I’d live on one in a heartbeat (job and broadband permitting!).
2. Finishing a thesis chapter, especially if I feel I’ve done a good job. I’m going to be over the moon when the whole thing is finished!
3. Gardening. Although I love my flat here in Glasgow, not having a garden to tend is one thing I really miss.
4. Taking a picture which I just know is a really good one, and beyond what I would expect of the capabilities of my little point-n-press camera (actually today’s picture is a case in point).
5. Good chocolate.
6. Watching people who are good at what they do – whatever it is. Obviously artists, musicians, etc, are a joy to watch, but I could also sit and watch my husband computer programming for hours, because he’s clearly so good and intuitive at it, he looks like an artist or a sculptor (albeit a bit of a geeky one!). It helps that he’s cute too of course!

What makes you happy?

17 Responses to “Lion King”

  1. PJ said

    Cool perspective, the lion is really well made with great lines and you’ve used it to great effect. That makes me happy.

  2. Jacob said

    Congrats on your tag. This is a super picture with a point and shoot…but as one well-known photographer always says, it’s not the camera, it’s the person with the camera! This is a beautifully composed and well-exposed shot, full of interest! Great job!

  3. Bill B. said

    I was recently tagged as well. What makes me happy? The smell of the air after a summer rain:The first smell of burning leaves in Autumn.

  4. Hilda said

    Fantastic perspective on this one, Jackie. I can just kiss that lion β€” he’s so handsome up close!

    Your description of your husband can be mine, but instead of computer programming, it’ll be writing πŸ™‚

    What makes me happy? Reading a good book in bed, propped up by a gazillion pillows, with a big bag of cheese-flavored potato chips! Heaven!

  5. babooshka said

    What a perspective. Sometimes you just know a particular image will be one you will always make you smile. Happy, many strange things like spending a lazy hour hunting for obscure music clips I’d forgotten about.

  6. Katya said

    What a fantasic photo, Jackie!!! I LOVE it! And that BLUE sky!!!! Wow! You must have put on a special order for that one….

    Happy? SCOTTIES!!!!! hehehe You knew I’d say that, didn’t you?

    Here’s hoping the writing for the thesis flows like a river!!!!!

  7. Ah that’s a great shot, no wonder it’s your favourite! What makes me happy? Ah, I’ve done that bit already after I was tagged the same way!

  8. JM said

    Gorgeous composition, Jackie! Love it!

  9. Shaun said

    Great pictures. Well done

  10. dianne said

    this lion makes me happy
    you captured the cat in his face, and he’s magnificent

  11. Ian said

    The lion puts a smile on my face too. πŸ™‚

  12. marley said

    Great photo, you are right to be pleased. Glad you got your “prize” πŸ™‚

    Happiness? – being with friends, having a really good meal out, singing, holidays, finding things to photograph when I wasn’t looking, being bossy! (I can’t help it!)

  13. Andrew said

    ‘Tis a good one Jackie. Watching kiddies play makes me happy, especially if there is a mix of races. Doesn’t matter to them. Our future.

  14. maria v said

    lovely post – the things you mentioned make me happy too

  15. m_m said

    Lovely angle! Very creative! The lion is wonderful:) Congratulations!

  16. Tinsie said

    Good chocolate certainly makes me happy πŸ™‚

    Nice shot, I love the contrast of the white lion and blue sky.

  17. Love this awesome photo of a lion balancing a building on his nose! I’m happy pushing my girls on our swing set in our backyard or helping our 3 year old with the “Junky jars” (monkey bars).

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
